Best New Indie: 10 songs to discover this week


It’s time to Best New Indie!

We got some amazing fresh tracks from huge bands like Lorde, James Blake, Angel Olsen, Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, and many more.

Check out this week’s best indie news below.

Lorde – “Mood Ring”

Lorde is back with “Mood Ring”, the latest single from her upcoming album, Solar Power, released this Friday August 20th. “Mood Ring” sees Lorde truly delving into a dreamy sound while commenting on pseudo-spirituality and pseudo-well-being. The epic new video shows Lorde like you’ve never seen her before. Putting on a blonde wig, Lorde struggles with her spirituality and nature with a group of friends in this clip.

James Blake – “Life is not the same”

James Blake is back with a brand new single titled “Life Is Not The Same”. The new song follows “Say What You Will”. Who will both appear on his next album, Friends who break your heart, released on September 10 via Republic. “Life is not the same” sees Blake take a look at his quintessential hip hop influenced production. On the new single, Blake teamed up with production duo Take A Daytrip, who worked with Sheck Wes, Lil Nas X, and more. They gave Blake’s sound a poppy touch, while staying true to his melancholy voice and haunting piano lines.

Angel Olsen – “Eyes Without a Face”

Angel Olsen shared a cover of “Eyes Without a Face” by Billy Idol. Olsen truly reinvents the mighty Rebel Yell ballad of 1984. Ultimately, it retains its shimmering ’80s synth-pop sound, while also giving it a vocally haunting twist. The independent rocker really makes the song her own, as she delivers famous lines like: “Now it makes me sad / It drives me crazy for the truth / To love what you were / Faceless eyes.”

Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – “Vortex”

Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds announced Faces B & Rarities Part II with their new unreleased track “Vortex”. Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds previewed the collection with the original “Vortex”. The track was originally recorded by Cave, Warren Ellis, Martyn Casey and Jim Sclavunos in 2006. “As the band could never define the song as Grinderman or Bad Seeds, it remained unreleased,” a statement said. Press.

Nathaniel Rateliff and the Night Sweats – “Survivor”

Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats return with their third studio album The Future which is due out November 5th via Stax Records. Sharing a little glimpse of what’s to come, the band released a brand new single. “Survivor” is a lively rock anthem that asks the important questions: “I’m afraid the weight of the world will catch up to you / I’m afraid to admit it will catch up with me too / Does the weight keep growing until he finally bury you?

Parquet Courts – “Walk to the rhythm of the city center”

Parquet Courts are back to announce their new album, Sympathy For Life, which will be released on October 22 via Rough Trade Records. As part of the announcement, they shared a video for their new single “Walking at a Downtown Pace”. “Walking at a Downtown Pace” is a gritty new track with upbeat, guitar-focused instrumentals. It also has raucous new wave style vocals that are sure to get you dancing. The accompanying video, produced by street photographer Daniel Arnold, follows the group through the streets of New York City. It captures the perfect balance between fun and chaos.

Shad – “Body (for no reason)”

Toronto rapper Shad is back with a video for his new single “Body (No Reason)”. The track is taken from his next album, BAT, released October 1 via Secret City Records. “Body (No Reason)” is all about movement and feeling. Throughout the single, Shad focuses on what it’s like to be in your body and move around the world. The accompanying video directed by Justin Broadbent is a lo-fi music video that ties in nicely with the other visuals on the album.

Dave Monks – “Don’t Get Pushed (feat. Shad)”

Dave Monks of the Tokyo Police Club shared a new summer collaboration with beloved Canadian rapper Shad, “Don’t Get Pushed Around”. The new single is from Monks’ upcoming second solo album, I always wanted to be me, released on October 15 via Ghost Pepper Records. With dreamy synths, Monks repeats the “don’t get pushed around” line atop a slowly building summer instrument. Shad adds a new dimension to the song, with uplifting lyrics.

Ellevator – “Easy”

Hamilton, Ontario trio Ellevator are back with a video for their new single “Easy” via Arts and Crafts. The new track is a precursor to their debut album, released in early 2022. Former Death Cab For Cutie member Chris Walla produced “Easy”. On the track, Ellevator delves into the sounds of late-years guitar music and nods to independent artists like Spoon and Feist. The moving and catchy indie rock anthem is all about singer Nabi Sue Bersche’s time in cult. The accompanying video made by Cam Veitch was shot entirely in their hometown.

Ducks Ltd. – “How lonely are you?” “

Toronto duo Ducks Ltd. (fka Ducks Unlimited) shared a video for their new single “How Lonely Are You? Which features harmonies from The Beths. The track is from their upcoming debut album, Modern fiction, released on October 1 via Royal Mountain Records / Parking registers. “This song is about personal connection in an environment that is hostile to it and friendships with people who are physically distant,” says the band’s Tom McGreevy. “Me and Evan have both moved around a lot and have friends in remote places that we don’t see as often as we would like. In fact, we partly made this record while Evan was living in Australia and I was in Toronto. Some of those friendships are incredibly important to me, and this song is sort of about grabbing those lifelines when it’s especially hard to believe things will work out, or if it’s even worth a try.

Listen to our Best New Indie playlist below!

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.