ASCAP Foundation Announces Herb Alpert Young Jazz Composer Award Winners for 2022

NEW YORK (CelebrityAccess) – The ASCAP Foundation has announced the young songwriters and composers winners of the 2022 Herb Alpert Young Jazz Composer Awards.

The awards, created in 2002 and named after the legendary jazz trumpeter, aim to recognize jazz composers at the start of their career, up to the age of 30.

Recipients for 2022 include: Evan Abounassar, 22 from Los Angeles, CA (Yorba Linda, CA); Ben Beckman, 21 from New Haven, CT (Los Angeles, CA); Sonya Belaya, 27 from Brooklyn, NY (southeast MI); Max Bessesen, 27 from New York, NY (Denver, CO); Gabriel Chakarji, 28 from Brooklyn, NY (Caracas, Venezuela); Jessica Curran, 28 from Boston, MA (Sandwich, MA); Kira Daglio Fine, 25 from Boston, MA; Sebastian de Urquiza, 29 from New York, NY (Buenos Aires, Argentina); Michael R. Dudley Jr., 27 of Potsdam, NY (Cincinatti, OH); Joseph Durben, 18 of Buffalo, MN; Quinn Dymalski, 23 from Los Angeles, CA (Park City, UT); Conner Eisenmenger, 29 from Seattle, WA (Louisville, KY); Eliana Fishbeyn, 25 from New York, NY (Chapel Hill, North Carolina); Brandon Goldberg, 16, from FL; Vicente Hansen, 29, from Brooklyn, NY (Santiago, Chile); Ennis Suavengco Harris, 23, of Los Angeles, CA (Exeter, CA); Daiki Nakajima, 19 from San Jose, California (Tokyo, Japan); Yu Nishiyama, 27, from Hawthorne, NJ (Yokohama, Japan); Robert Perez, 29 from Los Angeles, CA (Chino Hills, CA); Gary (Kaiji) Wang, 26, from Miami, FL (Beijing, China); and Griffin Woodard, 23 from Boston, MA (Bethlehem, PA).

“We are very proud to recognize the recipients of the 2022 ASCAP Foundation Herb Alpert Young Jazz Composer Award and to celebrate 10 years of generous support from the Herb Alpert Foundation,” said ASCAP Foundation President Paul Williams. “These emerging voices are taking their music in new creative directions, and we deeply appreciate the Herb Alpert Foundation for helping to nurture the art of jazz with this enduring partnership.”

The composers receiving honorable mention this year are: Claire Dickson, 25, of Brooklyn, NY (Medford, MA); Michael Echaniz, 27 from Los Angeles, Calif. (Oakland, Calif.); Amanda Ekery, 27 from New York, NY (El Paso, TX); Chase Elodia, 27 from Brooklyn, NY (Norwalk, CT); Peyton Nelesen, 14, from California; and Malcolm Xiellie, 14, from California.

Through a partnership with the Newport Festivals Foundation, one of the winners of this year’s Herb Alpert Young Jazz Composer Awards will be presented by the Newport Jazz Festival.

The ASCAP composers/judges for the 2022 competition were: Fabian Almazan, Chuck Owen and Camille Thurman.

Comments are closed.